Map record details

Map series Geological Survey of England and Wales, Vertical sections 
Sheet number 29 
Sheet title Pit Sections of the Northumberland and Durham Coal Field (Tyne District). Compiled, collected & arranged by H.H. Howell. No. 1. Wallsend Colliery. No. 2. Backworth Colliery. No. 3. Gosforth Colliery. No. 4. Hartley Colliery. No. 5. Bebside Colliery. No. 6. Montagu Main Colliery. No. 7. Walbotle Colliery. No. 8. Montagu Main Colliery, South of the 90-fathoms Dyke, Towneley Colliery. [Maps 105 N.E., N.W., S.W.; 1, 2, Durham, 73, 81, 88, 89, 97, 98, Northumberland, 6-inch.] 
Publication year 1868 
Author statement Compiled, collected & arranged by H.H. Howell 
Published statement Published at the Geological Survey Office, December 1868 
View map View map | Request a paper map or scanned copy

Terms of use

This map as displayed in this viewer is made available under the Open Government Licence, subject to the following acknowledgement accompanying any reproduced BGS materials: "Contains British Geological Survey materials © UKRI [year]".

Please be aware that separate terms will be supplied with digital or hard copy versions of the map purchased via the BGS Bookshop.

See also