Map record details

Map series Geological Survey of England and Wales, Vertical sections 
Sheet number 39 
Sheet title Sections of the Strata between the High Main Coal and the Low Main Coal of the Tyne District or Hutton Coal of the Wear District and between the Low Main or Hutton Coal and the Busty and Brockwell Coal taken from sinkings and borings in the North part of the Durham Coal-Field. Arranged by H.H. Howell. No. 1. Tyne Main Colliery (William Pit). No. 2. Team Colliery (Street Pit). No. 3. Dipton Colliery (Delight Pit). No. 4. Charlaw Colliery (Witton Pit). No. 5. Waldridge Fell Colliery. No. 6. Dryburn Grange Colliery. No. 7. Edmondsley Colliery. No. 8. Hetton Colliery. No. 9. Seaton Colliery, near Seaham Harbour. No. 10. Blaydon Main Colliery (Mary Pit). No. 11. Consett District. No. 12. Dipton Colliery (Delight Pit). No. 13. Lintz Colliery. No. 14. Marley Hill Colliery (Byer Moor Pit). No. 15.Dryburn Grange Colliery. No. 16. Selton Colliery, near Chester-le-Street. No. 17. Framwellgate Moor Colliery, near Durham. No. 18. Seaton Colliery. [Maps 105 S.W., S.E.; and 1, 2, 6, 7, 11, 12, 19, 20, Durham, 6-inch.] 
Publication year 1871 
Author statement Arranged by H.H. Howell 
Published statement Published at the Geological Survey Office, London, Decr. 1871 
View map View map | Request a paper map or scanned copy

Terms of use

This map as displayed in this viewer is made available under the Open Government Licence, subject to the following acknowledgement accompanying any reproduced BGS materials: "Contains British Geological Survey materials © UKRI [year]".

Please be aware that separate terms will be supplied with digital or hard copy versions of the map purchased via the BGS Bookshop.

See also