Map record details

Map series Geological Survey of England and Wales, Vertical sections 
Sheet number 56 
Sheet title Pit Section and Borings to the Little Limestone Coal in Northumberland and Cumberland (South Tyne District). By David Burns. No. 1. Blacksike Shaft. No. 2. Gairs. No. 3. Howard. No. 4. Roachburn. No. 5. Reaygarth Colliery. No. 6. Denton Fell. No. 7. Blenkinsope Colliery. No. 8. South Tyne Colliery, Fell End. No. 9. South Tyne, Greenwood. No. 10. West Plainmeller. No. 11. Hardriding. No. 12. Henshaw and Melkridge. No. 13. Unthank. No. 14. Henshaw. No. 15. Birkshaw. No. 16. Settlingstones. No. 17. Coastley. No. 18. Fourstones. No. 19. Acomb. No. 20. Stagshow. No. 21. Fenwick. No. 22. Matfen Tilery. No. 23. Fallowfield. [Maps 105 N.W., 106 N.E., S.E., S.W., 1-inch. 78, 84, 85, 86, 91, 92, 94, Northumberland; 18, 25, Cumberland, 6-inch.] 
Publication year 1876 
Author statement By David Burns 
Published statement Published at the Geological Survey Office London. November 1876 
View map View map | Request a paper map or scanned copy

Terms of use

This map as displayed in this viewer is made available under the Open Government Licence, subject to the following acknowledgement accompanying any reproduced BGS materials: "Contains British Geological Survey materials © UKRI [year]".

Please be aware that separate terms will be supplied with digital or hard copy versions of the map purchased via the BGS Bookshop.

See also