Map record details

Map series Geological Survey of England and Wales, Vertical sections 
Sheet number 62 
Sheet title Sections of lead mines in the Carboniferous Limestone Series of Northumberland, in the Districts of the Tyne, Allendale, and Derwent. By David Burns under the superintendece of H.H. Howell. No. No. 1. Shildon Mine, Engine Shaft. No. 2. Beldon Mine, Pumping Shaft. No. 3. Allenheads Mine, Collier and High Shaft. No. 4. Blackett Level, Breckon Hill Shaft. No. 5. Blackett Level, Sipton Shaft. No. 6. Blackett Level, Holms Linn Shaft. No. 7. Blackett Level, Studdon Dean Shaft. No. 8. Coalcleugh Mine, Scrathie Hole Shaft. No. 9. Longcleugh Mine. No. 10. Waterfall, Whitfield Grounds. No. 11. Honeycrook Mine, Leadbitter Shaft. No. 12. Grindon Mine, Engine Shaft. No. 13. Settlingstones Mine, Winters Shaft. No. 14. Stonecroft Mine, Greyside Shaft. No. 15. Carr Edge Mine, West Shaft. No. 16. Fallowfield Mine. [Maps 102 N.E.,106 N.E., S.E.; 84, 85, 93, 101, 102, 106, 107, 108, 111, Northumberland, 6-inch.] To illustrate Horizontal Section Sheet , 148. 
Publication year 1877 
Author statement By David Burns under the superintendece of H.H. Howell 
Published statement Published at the Geological Survey Office, London May 1877 
View map View map | Request a paper map or scanned copy

Terms of use

This map as displayed in this viewer is made available under the Open Government Licence, subject to the following acknowledgement accompanying any reproduced BGS materials: "Contains British Geological Survey materials © UKRI [year]".

Please be aware that separate terms will be supplied with digital or hard copy versions of the map purchased via the BGS Bookshop.

See also